Louisiana Department of Insurance Header with Commissioner James J. Donelon Follow us on Twitter Become a Fan on Facebook

 

Licensing Division
The Division of Licensing is divided into two sections, Company Licensing and Producer Licensing. 

Barry Ward, Deputy Commissioner
(225) 219-5941
bward@ldi.la.gov

Michael Boutwell, Assistant Deputy Commissioner
(225) 342-0800
mboutwell@ldi.la.gov

The company licensing division licenses domestic and foreign insurance companies, third party administrators, dental referral plans, health maintenance organizations, risk purchasing groups, risk retention groups, vehicle mechanical breakdown insurers, viatical settlement brokers and providers and medical necessity review organizations.  This division also processes applications for certificates of compliance for insurers, dissolution of domestic insurance companies, domestic and foreign acquisitions, redomestications, withdrawal of insurance companies,  securities registrations and exemptions.

Terry Stubbs, Assistant Director of Company Licensing
(225) 219-4318
tstubbs@ldi.la.gov


The Producer Licensing Division licenses individuals, partnerships and corporations to engage in the insurance industry in Louisiana.  This division maintains records on all producers, surplus lines brokers and adjusters to determine their qualification to conduct business in accordance with Louisiana laws.

Lorie Gasior, Assistant Director of Producer Licensing
(225) 219-7784
lgasior@ldi.la.gov




Division of Life and Annuities And Long Term Care

Consumer Affairs/Contract Forms

The Life & Annuity Division of the Louisiana Department of Insurance enforces the provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code pertaining to life insurance, annuities, and long term care products. Among other duties, this division investigates consumer complaints and reviews for approval life insurance, annuity, and long term care contract forms that insurers propose to market in this state. In addition, this division interacts with the public to educate and inform consumers. We also interact with industry personnel to assist them in maintaining compliance with the applicable portions of the Code.

Jim Potter, Director of Life and Annuities
(225) 219-5159
jpotter@ldi.la.gov

Sam Brooks, Assistant Director, Consumer Affairs
(225) 342-1253
sbrooks@ldi.la.gov