Louisiana Department of Insurance Office of Consumer Advocay
Volume 1, Issue 1

Kiwanis Club of South
West Lafayette
4/7/2010; 5:30—7:00 p.m.
ULL Giraud Park Bldg.
Lafayette, LA

Northshore Professional
Insurance Agents
4/7/2010; 11:30 a.m.
Dakota’s 629 N. Hwy 190 Covington, LA

South Baton Rouge Kiwanis
Health Fair Day
4/22/2010; 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.
McKinley Alumni Center
1520 Thomas H. Delpit Drive
Baton Rouge, LA

UREC Insurance and
Housing Panel
4/22/2010; 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Southern University Campus
Baton Rouge, LA

Risk Management Class
4/23/2010; 11 - 11:50 a.m.
ULL Campus- Lafayette, LA

For speaking engagements scheduled after the release of the newsletter or for more detailed information about engagements listed in the newsletter, visit our web site at www.ldi.la.gov. Click on the Events tab found in the center of the home page.

To view previous newsletters, click on Consumer Advocacy under Consumers; then click on Consumer Advocacy Newsletters.

To find out if Consumer Advocacy will be in your area or to request a speaker for your organization or group, call (225) 219-0619 or e-mail
consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

If you no longer wish to receive this newsletter please e-mail the following address with "REMOVE" in the subject line.
consumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov

Follow the Louisiana Department of Insurance on

2010 Regular Legislative Session
As the 2010 Legislative session gets underway, the Capitol has the familiar buzz of a busy bee hive. This is a General Session year and with proposed budget deficits for at least the next two fiscal years, cuts in all areas of state government will abound as the Governor and legislature look to make the state live within its means.

Fiscally lean years or not, the Department of Insurance continues to work hard to protect the rights of the insurance consumers of this state. As a result of that continued effort, the Department has 45 plus bills that will be presented to the legislature this session to do just that.

From health related issues such as balanced billing, out of state coverage and network adequacy, to the continued effort to recodify the insurance code (Title 22) in order to make it more user friendly for consumers and industry and working to make the process smoother for new companies to get licensed  and do business in our state.

If you wish to follow any bills as they progress through the legislative process or watch any of the hearings and testimony via the internet, you may do so by logging into the legislative website at www.legis.state.la.us
Mandatory Liability Limit Changes
In the 2008 Regular Session, Act 921 was passed by the legislature, increasing the mandatory minimum limits to 15/30/25.
The limits are represented as follows:
 · Fifteen thousand for injury or death to one person;
 · Thirty thousand for injury or death to two or more persons;
 · Twenty-five thousand for property damage to others.

The Act provided that the new limits became effective January 1, 2010 and would apply to all new automobile policies written from that date forward, and all policies already in effect on January 1, 2010 would be written with the new limits at renewal.

Louisiana’s mandatory compulsory liability for automobiles was first put into law in 1952 (Act 52 § 21), with minimum limits of 5/10/1. Those limits remained in effect for 32 years, until 1984 (Act 237 § 1), when the minimum limits were raised to 10/20/10.

It has been 24 years since the last increase and health care cost and automobile costs to restore an injured party have risen dramatically, so it was time to increase the minimum liability limits once again.
Louisiana Tax Credits
Property owners are eligible for a state rebate for the Louisiana Citizens assessment on your 2009 insurance policy. Almost 59 million or 60% of the available money went unclaimed in 2008. If you have not yet submitted your rebate for 2009 or prior years, it is not too late.

You can also apply for a state tax deduction for retrofitting your home and an insurance premium discount for building or retrofitting your home to comply with the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code, which will make your home more hurricane resistant.

Claim your Citizens Rebate and apply for the State Uniform Construction Code tax deduction today. For help, call us at 1-225-219-0619 or go to  www.ldi.state.la.us
Spring Cleaning
As spring begins and the process of cleaning the debris from fall and winter starts, now is a good time to do an annual review of all the insurance policies that you own.

Through the course of the year, changes may have taken place that leaves your insurance coverage outdated.

Perhaps you remodeled your home or added a new room. Maybe a child was born or someone of driving age moved into your home. These are examples of things which may have occurred during the year that would create a need to update your insurance portfolio.

Contact your insurance producer to review your coverage options with you.
Article 5

This is the text for article 5

Office of Consumer AdvocacyP.O. Box 94214Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
(225) 219-0619 or (800)259-5300www.ldi.la.govconsumeradvocacy@ldi.la.gov